back to homepage

We are an ad hoc early career scientist committee of microbial ecologists. We assembled earlier this year when the world was shaken by global shutdowns due to COVID-19 and voices about racial injustice became louder. We are passionate about creating a more inclusive academic community with regard to gender, ethnicity, and socioeconomic background.  

The #UnityInDiversity committee is represented by

Ann Gregory, Postdoctoral Fellow, VIB Center for Microbiology, KU Leuven, Belgium

Evodia Setati, Chief researcher, Stellenbosch University, South Africa 

Anya Brown, Postdoctoral fellow, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institute, USA

Kaylee Arnold, Ph.D. student in Interdisciplinary Disease Ecology Across Scales Program, Odum School of Ecology, University of Georgia, USA 

Zakee Sabree, Associate Professor in the Department of Evolution, Ecology and Organismal Biology, Ohio State University, USA 

Phillip Brooks, 10X Genomics, California, USA 

Jarrad Hampton-Marcell, Postdoctoral Fellow at Argonne National Lab, University of Chicago, USA

Laetitia Wilkins, Postdoctoral researcher at Max Planck Institute for Marine Microbiology, Bremen, Germany

Jillian Petersen, Associate professor, University of Vienna, Austria