For more information on the ISME Travel Grants, the African Travel Grants or the Primary Caregiver Grant, please visit the appropriate travel grant pages. 


ISME Awards

The Jim Tiedje Award
The Tiedje Award is presented by ISME to an exalted microbial ecologist who is recognized for their Outstanding Lifetime contribution to the field of microbial ecology. Past winners of this award include Farooq Azam (2004), Gijs Kuenen (2006), Norman Pace (2008), Bo Barker Jørgensen (2010), Stephen Giovannoni (2012), Nancy Moran (2014), Sallie Chisholm (2016), Michael Wagner (2018) and Ken Nealson in 2022.  

The Winogradsky Award
ISME honours Sergei Winogradsky's importance to the field of microbial ecology by naming the new Mid-career Scientist Award after him.
The Winogradsky Award recognizes scientists who have substantially advanced the field of microbial ecology. The award recognizes outstanding contributions to microbial ecology including the development of novel techniques, proposing and advancing ecology theories and establishing new disciplines within the field. Nominees are suggested by the membership and must be active researchers 10-25 years post PhD. A panel of experts and the ISME Executive Board will make the final selection of the awardee. 
The first winner of this award is Jennifer Martiny, University of California, Irvine, United States, who will accept her award in Cape Town.

The Alma Dal Co Award
ISME has recently renamed the ISME Early Career Award, previously the Young Investigator Award, to the Alma Dal Co Award to commemorate the life and work of Alma Dal Co (1989 - 2022). The ISME Alma Dal Co Award aims to honour Alma Dal Co's significant contributions to the field of microbial ecology, preserve her intellectual heritage, and inspire early career researchers to pursue groundbreaking research in the spirit of Alma Dal Co's passion for knowledge, innovation and multidisciplinary. 
The Alma Dal Co Award recognizes early career microbial ecologists who have made significant contributions to this field. Nominees are no more than 10 years post PhD. Nominations are suggested by ISME Members, and an expert panel comprising individuals selected by the ISME Executive are the judges of this biennial award. 
The Alma Dal Co Award is supported by the Alma Dal Co Foundation, that aims to preserve the intellectual legacy of Alma Dal Co in Science and Music.
Past winners of the ISME Young Investigator Award include Ian Head (2004), Phil Hugenholtz (2006), Forest Rohwer (2008), Marc Strous (2010), Victoria Orphan (2012), Ruth Ley (2014), Gene Tyson (2016) Catherine Lozupone (2018) and Kelly Wrighton in 2022. 
Jean-Baptiste Raina, University of Technology, Sydney, Australia, will receive the Alma Dal Co Award in 2024. 

The ISME Poster Award for Students and Early Career Postdocs
The ISME Poster Award is reserved for students or postdocs who are the first and presenting author on a submitted poster presentation (proof of (postgraduate) studentship will be required). During ISME19, outstanding posters will be chosen each day (Monday, Tuesday and Thursday). Awardees will receive free membership of ISME. Winning posters will be displayed in a prominent location. Awards will be presented at the closing ceremony of ISME19.

The David C. White Award
David C. White’s vision was to honor and respect the power of quantitative analytical chemistry to microbial ecology. Thus, the D.C. White Award will be presented to the most innovative poster at the ISME19 conference. The announcement of the “D.C. White award” will be made at the closing ceremony of the ISME19 symposium.

The Tom Brock Awards
The Tom Brock Awards acknowledge the accomplishments and promise of outstanding postdoctoral research associates on the basis of the presentations that they make at the ISME Symposium. The criteria will include scientific accomplishments and innovation as well as clarity of presentation at ISME19. Initial selection criteria will be on the basis of submitted abstracts that will be chosen for oral presentations by the organizers.  Final evaluation will be made at the meeting, by evaluating the oral presentations of the candidates.

The ISME/IWA Bio Cluster Award
In order to recognize the importance of interdisciplinary research at the interface of microbial ecology and water/wastewater treatment, the ISME/IWA Bio Cluster Award was created. This prestigious prize rewards interdisciplinary research of unusual merit in this field.